2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, 10 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 12 13
P
OP Offline
P
Originally posted by Morodiene:
Originally posted by Pianitis:
[b] You NAILED it Monica. Mr Brook would send them away, He said as much with a SELF TAUGHT or STORE TAUGHT student, He has no desire to teach them.
Actually, John said he *knew* of many teachers in his area who wouldn't teach them. I don't think he claimed to be one of them. [/b]
You are correct it was Chris I was confusing with Mr. Brooks. They think so much alike, interchanging them is not a huge error.

btb Offline
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Give the chappie a break chaps ... he’s selling Clavinovas which provide the rich sound of any orchestral instrument (in any key) at the touch of a button ... very alluring.

It is total rot to suggest that he is undermining the proper teaching of the piano ... his gadget makes it just that much easier to get started ... by pressing a beat button for a fixed accompaniment ... the LH role is taken out of the initial playing effort ... all the beginner needs to add is the simple improvisation of a single-note RH melody ... any dope can do this .

Once there is some sort of RH co-ordination ... it would seem logical that the "sucker" would like to learn about using two hands ... thus the later chord tuition at $25.00 a throw.