2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (brdwyguy, accordeur, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, 6 invisible), 1,896 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#975597 03/22/06 04:30 PM
zoso Offline OP
OP Offline
A local piano shop teaches the chord method also called ez play. Group lessons. Im studying from Alfreds adult books, but would like to explore other methods as well. Ive read posts about piano magic, but dont really understand how they teach, and Ive searched the web and found rocket piano, and others like it. Anyone with personal experiences with any of these please reply and give me an idea of how they teach, what you have learned and what I could expect to be able to play after 6 months, a year, ect. I still plan to continue with alfreds as I want to be able to read, but I also want to get up and playing stuff too. Thanks

Have a nice day
#975598 03/22/06 04:54 PM
Are you interested in improvisation? If so, you may want to check out my site. It teachers beginning adults how to play piano in the New Age style. Go to http://www.quiescencemusic.com for more information.

#975599 03/22/06 05:07 PM
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Well, there are gobs of threads already on PianoMagic, but I'll do a quick once-over for you.

The sole goal of PianoMagic is to teach the ability to play tunes that you know well enough to hum them all the way through without requiring sheet music or fakebooks. In other words, how to play-by-ear.