2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,726 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hello everybody,

I've been playing the (digital) piano for a few years now and I'm taking lessons in an official music school in Belgium.
My level is not too high, and though a realise I'll never be a high-level player(don't really mind), I still want to improve at least a little bit.

I've always played pieces and never really practiced scales. ( I've been playing studies but they are rather melodic e.g. Pianostudes from Mike Cornick universal edition )
Last months I became aware that I'm still rather "clumsy" at the keyboard. In order to learn a new piece I have to make a very big effort and I make many mistakes when practicing ( pieces are not too difficult at sight) .
It's almost at the point that when I finally master a piece I've "completely forgotten" the previous one. So I don't really have a repertoire...

I'wonder if practicing scales could help me with this "clumsy" problem. (Recently bought Piano Essentials from Berklee Press ) On the other side practice time is -like all adults- limited and when I'm practising scales I can't practice the rest...

Can you help me with this...

Denis

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member