2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 5 invisible), 1,301 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#984100 06/16/08 03:39 PM
DrGaz Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi,

I just joined the forum after lurking around here for a few weeks!

I'm a beginner (in my mid 30s) and have wanted to learn piano ever since I can remember but never had the opportunity. This year I decided my priority was to get started at all costs so I finally took delivery of my digital piano in Febuary this (a Yamaha Clavinova CLP-240) year and started having weekly lessons. I'm loving every minute of finally beginning to learn piano.

Anyway the reason for posting is firstly to introduce myself, and secondly to mention that my Grade 1 examination date just came through (5th July). Gulp! Less than 3 weeks.

I've posted the 3 pieces I'm doing on YouTube. You can view them here:
http://drgaz.blogspot.com/search/label/Piano

I'd love to know what people think. My teacher says I'm going to be fine, but any words of advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks,
DrGaz

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Your 'scatching' motion in the right hand of Cuckoo clock is perfect. I have three pupils up on July 9th. They're doing Sarabande, Andante and Cuckoo Clock. Best of luck. And welcome to the forum!

P.S. Don't speed up or slow down so much in the second Andante section.

My child played the same 3 pieces for her Grade 1.

The Andante is very good. Perhaps play it a little slower.