2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Craig Hair, Cheeeeee, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 4 invisible), 1,269 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi everyone. My kids would like to give me a Christmas gift related to the piano...Basically, I am an intermediate level player/reader, largely self taught, with a primary interest in jazz for solo piano. I can do a credible reading of many of the standards in the "Real Book" etc, have a working knowledge of theory, but would like to broaden and deepen my knowlege and skills...
Therefore I am thinking a Jazz Piano Method Book would be an excellent choice for this gift...
I have 2 ideas, "The Jazz Piano Book" by Mark Levine and "Intros Endings and turnarounds for the Keyboard" by John Velario....
Can any speak of their experiences with these books, or recommend other helpful books that I am not aware of?...............Thanks!

2 kids, a yellow lab, Yamaha U3 and P90.
I think there are a lot of threads about this over in the Pianist - Non Classical forum. I'd start out by searching that forum.

------
If you knew what you were doing, you'd probably be bored.
- Fresco's Law
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
bassliner,

the jazz piano book is an excellent book. It's a great read. I don't think it will really teach you how to play, however. It isn't a method really.

Another great book you should consider, with tons of good exercises is "Metaphors for the Musician" at Sher Music.
It's much less about voicing than the jazz piano book, and more about focuses exercises.