2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, 9 invisible), 1,393 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 110 of 190 1 2 108 109 110 111 112 189 190
N
N
Hope y'all don't mind a newcomer jumping in.

I looked through several forums before I found this one, and kept seeing things like "my teacher is amazed at how fast I'm progressing", and "I finished Alfred's book 1 in 6 weeks, skipped book 2, and am half way through book 3". It's nice to find a forum of normal people. I'm not a musical prodigy or piano genius. I'm just a skinny old fart with a little pot belly and a mess of grandkids, and I thought playing the piano looked like fun. It took me over a year to muddle through book 1, and my teacher's reaction to my progress leans more toward tolerance than amazement.

I tend to breeze through the songs I like and struggle with the songs I don't, and I'm ok with that. I just like pounding on the keys and occassionally bumping into something that sounds like music. Heck, once in while I catch my wife singing along with my playing; and a couple of times she was even singing the same song I was playing. Just started book 2 and enjoying it so far...

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Welcome, New-at-piano! This may make you feel like a prodigy, but it took me two years to finish Book 1, and I've already been on Book 2 for a year. Started it January 1 of last year. I'm self-taught, and my "teacher" (me) is also amazed at how far I've come. LOL