2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (bcalvanese, 20/20 Vision, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 10 invisible), 1,930 guests, and 265 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#996061 01/28/08 10:12 PM
D
Doodely Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Well, I just started playing Piano (electric keyboard) about 2 weeks ago, and I have learned a whole lot since then.

I have been studying chords (I know the Majors/Aug/Minors), I can read sheet music (I stare for a few seconds to count out the letters for it).

I mean, I know (Saints, B-Day Song, Zelda Melodies, Mario Themes, Most Nintendo Themes, Mad World, Mortal Kombat)...but I want to learn atleast one classical piece of music as well smile

Though those seem nerdy, they're more or less for show to friends smile

*QUESTION*

Now my question is, if this is a good first "classical" musical piece that I should learn?
I have the intro down decently, then a little bit after the repeat...it is going decent, but looking on in the sheet music for it, I can see it will start to pick up really fast.

"I got my chords
But I dont know how to tune my piano?"
-Ignorant Person
smile
#996062 01/28/08 10:24 PM
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Yikes! You learned a lot in two weeks.

I haven't tried anything classical yet. I could probably manage the Birthday song and Saints, but just barely.

I've seen discussions about Fur Elise here, and there's a debate about whether beginners should even try it. I say, if you don't think it's too hard, go for it. It will definitely impress your friends if you learn it well.

mom3gram