2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
lnical Offline OP
OP Offline
My fiancee and I went 'window shopping' for an acoustic piano. I'm a rank beginner, 3 months worth of lessons. She has her RCM Grade 8. She also is somewhat hard of hearing.

I have been learning on a Yamaha Digital -- P60. It's okay, but it is not an acoustic.

She played several pianos at the store, 3 Pearl River's (48" & 52"? upright and a 5'0 grand) Several Yamaha's (U1, used U1, GB1, GC1, C2, Used C3) and a McPhail Grand from the 1940's.

She liked the Pearl River Pianos -- all of them and disliked the all the Yamaha except the used U1 which was acceptable. The McPhail Grand she liked the best.

For me, the Pearl River Pianos were unacceptable, they sounded like noise, not music.

The used U1, McPhail Grand were acceptable to me.

The new U1 sounded amazing to me, music from it almost moved me to tears (something I've not had happen before)

I cannot describe what I heard in that U1. To her, it was just another bright Yamaha.

I find it perplexing that my fiancee and I have such different views on pianos.

My budget is most under CAN$10,000 so the GB1, GC1, C2 and used C3 were well outside the range.

I have no problem buying used. The McPhail is probably the best compromise. It's alright but it doesn't evoke the emotional response that the U1 did.

Does any one have any advice? Alternative pianos?

lnical

K
K