2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, brennbaer, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 8 invisible), 1,795 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#926122 11/20/03 12:23 PM
OP Offline
Hi Everyone,
I am new here to this forum and look forward to hearing your opinions.
I am a piano teacher who drives to my students'homes for lessons. I have one student who is often late getting home for his lesson. Last night I waited for nearly 15 minutes in my car on the dark street and there was still no sign of him. I left my bill and a phone message that I had been waiting and he wasnt there.
I got a phone message from his father last night who said that his son told him he was only 5 minutes late and I didnt wait. The father said he was disappointed (like,in me) if this information was accurate.
I feel that this is really disrespectful. Obviously the boy is not being truthful, but even so, if a lesson is scheduled at a certain time, how long should a teacher have to wait?? I know that my own teacher never would. What would you all do??? Thanks in advance for your responses! Katie

even if he was only 5 minutes late, you shouldn't have to wait. He should wait for you
...and boys always lie, so they don't get in trouble.
You can tell his dad, that you don't feel safe, waiting in the car in the darkness (maybe even cold). That's not unreasonable.

A
A