2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
Tal Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Well, the story is this:
I'm 18 years old,
About 6 months ago (I think, I really don't remember) I started taking piano lessons. They were of the traditional kind. Around that time I started posting threads in this forum about sight-reading and stuff, some of you might remember. Well, soon after I started playing, I discovered I really dislike this whole process, To be able to play a piece, I gotta to practice it for so long... Heck, I don't practice the piano, I practice that piece specifically! It's like the only thing I improve in is playing that specific piece (I know it's not actully like that, it's "like"), a proof could be the fact that after enough practice I can play that hard piece perfectly and then when given a simple phrase I can't play it, I have to LEARN it. But then what did I learn up to now then? Oh right, I didn't learn playing the piano, I learned how to play that specific piece. Anyway leave that whole thing aside, even though that's my main reason for wanting to practice ONLY sight-reading. So that all the time I put into practice will go towards benfetting me when playing (or attemping to play) all pieces and not a specific piece.