2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, 4 invisible), 1,228 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
OP Offline
E
Hi everyone! I've been a lurker on the forums for a good 5 months or so, and I finally decided to register so I could join in the discussion.

I'm 27 years old, and a complete beginner with the piano. I've had some experience playing Viola in the grade school orchestra, but I had little interest at the time. After many years, I finally came to the conclusion that the piano is the instrument that moves me the most emotionally. Needless to say I fell in love with it and I've got a strong desire to play.

I've got a very cheap Yamaha keyboard to start on, but I plan on investing in a digital piano soon like the Yamaha P155. I've ordered Alfred's All-in-One along with the Complete book of scales. I also may have a teacher lined up here pretty soon. As for goals, I want to be able to sight read quickly and accurately as well as improvise and compose. I enjoy classical, jazz, blue, or any piece really that emotionally grabs me. I've got a couple pieces that I'd like to work towards that are quite out-of-reach at the moment.