2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Charles Cohen, 20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,948 guests, and 249 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2057790 04/01/13 01:24 PM
J
OP Offline
J
So I've been playing piano for about 2 years now, and have been teaching myself the entire time. This was mostly due to financial issues. Well lucky for me, things have changed and I can finally afford to start taking lessons!

Really nervous about the whole thing though. It'd be one thing if I was brand new, but I'll be going into this with a, more than likely, long list of bad habits and the like. This'll be the first time I've ever played in front of anyone as well (except for the wife).

What should I expect? Any advice?

E
E
Did you pick out a teacher yet? if not, I suggest trying out a few before committing to one. During my search, I found that most piano teachers would give a free 30 minute trial lesson. It gave me a feel for different teaching styles and their personalities. I ended up choosing the one that I felt most comfortable with.

Good luck with piano lessons! Btw, I started out with 30 minute lessons once a week but that only lasted 3 lessons. I now take hour lessons cause it just goes by so fast!

Originally Posted by johnny931
So I've been playing piano for about 2 years now, and have been teaching myself the entire time. This was mostly due to financial issues. Well lucky for me, things have changed and I can finally afford to start taking lessons!