2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Cheeto717, 12 invisible), 1,880 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
F
Fatih Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hey guys,

Total beginner here. I started studying on Circle of Fifths. I got a couple questions about that.

- What kind of a benefit should i expect? I know that i will easily know what chord was used in the song as i see the sharps or flats(after learning the circle). Then what? I don't know what it exactly does(simple words please) .

- My tutor gave me a circle which shows all the sharps and flats included in all particular scales. So it is too complicated. When i checked other circle diaghrams i saw that the most of them didn't show which sharps or flats but only how many of them were included(is this sentence gramatically correct?) .

Which one should i go with?

Thanks guys. You are helping a lot.

E
E
Originally Posted by Fatih
- My tutor gave me a circle which shows all the sharps and

Who is the tutor ? Why don't you ask him/her first to explain it to you ?

P
P
Circle of fifths is very helpful to learn. The best thing is to learn to draw the circle of fifths yourself.

First off, do you know what an interval of a fifth is?

Are you familiar with the piano keyboard? ie: can you look at any key on the keyboard and name the note?

D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D