2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (beeboss, Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,277 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2509666 02/12/16 04:20 AM
H
hyena Offline OP
OP Offline
H
So, I've been playing piano for about six years, so I'm not sure if this is the right thread, though the question is actually pretty beginner. It's about rhythm.

I taught my self playing piano, with the use of Youtube and such. The thing is, I never really practiced rhythm a lot, because after doing it a few times, I thought I already knew, and I was somehow convinced that my style of playing doesn't involve a repetitive rhythm.

But now that I started playing with other people, I've discovered my rhythm sucks. People can't easily play with me, since my playing is very chaotic and unpredictable. I have trouble tuning in to their rhythm as well.

There are a lot of videos on Youtube, but they're all for beginners with boring block chords. I don't find it hard to follow. But my question is, how do I practice rhythm, at the level I'm currently at. To give you an idea.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xrf0Z0rAfwE

It doesn't take long to notice that this doesn't really follow a rhythm either. So how do I fix this? Do I just play how I always play, though just turn on the metronome and follow it? If the rhythm is a 4 beat, should I only play the amount of notes in that 4 beat, or either that number multiplied? (4-8-16 for example)

Thanks for reading.

hyena #2509681 02/12/16 05:41 AM
M
M