2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2036966 02/21/13 02:19 PM
90abyss Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm currently going through Alfred's adult series book 1. I started playing the piano about 6 weeks ago.
Can anyone please tell me how is your approach when you sight read?
1) Do you say the name of the notation out loud in the back of your mind after you read it from the sheet and then play it?
OR
2) Do you keep track of intervals while reading notes comparing the distances between notes?
OR
3) You pay attention to your finger position first and memorize them and later sight read? I mean lets say you are playing on a G position then you memorize that thumb is on G, pinky is on D and so on? So anytime you see a "D" you immediately press keys with your pinky?

I am just not getting the right approach. Sight reading is so so difficult! And I don't have a private tutor to help me out either so I'm all by myself.

F
F
My teacher has me do all three.

Work through SLOWLY (take what you think is slow, then go slower), and say the note names as you strike the keys - concentrate here on even tone / volume while striking.

Play again, slowly still. Pay attention to fingering. Say the number of each fingering when striking the key. Again concentrate on even tone / volumne.

Use a metronome, playing slowly. Count everything (1 & 2 & 3 & 4), try counting the rhythm as written (1...3.&.4.&.), group counts (1...3...)