2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, 5 invisible), 1,131 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2155065 09/21/13 03:12 PM
M
mbc007 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi all,
I'm a newbie ( this is my first posting) not only to this forum but also the piano as well.
I'm 45 and just about to have my first lesson - very excited!
I used to play the organ as a kid and have been waiting 20 years now to take up the piano.
I have a number of requests for help from you and would be delighted to hear your replies.

I'm looking to purchase my first DP and am torn between the yamaha YDP 142 or the Casio PX 750. I was searching the net for info and across this guy http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TRxFUjLMe4s
I have to say he's exactly why I want to take up piano and he can sure play. In fact, I was previously contemplating getting the yamaha ydp 162 because of the better GH action that I've read about but it doesn't seem like this guy has any problem with it!

Can anyone give their opinion on these DPs please?

But watching him has raised the following questions:-

1. Just how good is he? Is there any chance I would ever be able to play like that in say 10 years time or is he beyond us mortals?

2. Does anybody know any of the pieces he plays? I'd love to know the pieces at 0:50 (repeated at 5:00), then the prices at 6:00 and 7:00.

I hope there is someone out there up for the challenge!

Many thanks all

Martin

mbc007 #2155078 09/21/13 03:47 PM
D
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member