2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (danno858, AlkansBookcase, dbudde, eleos, David B, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 13 invisible), 1,825 guests, and 295 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
K
Kodack Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Yes I'm a drummer lol. I need the piano equivalent of rudiments. I need to know some things to be practicing every day.

I'm not sure of my piano level but looking at some of the exams I'd venture to guess grade 3 or 4. See I've never had a lesson and I just kind of figured it out on my own starting with playing around after church when I was a kid, and not really taking off until several years ago when I got my first 88key synth.

So I find myself able to play several pieces fairly well like Moonlight Sonata, Fur Elise, several Vince Guaraldi songs, Elton John etc. IE I can play songs reasonably well for a novice, but I have almost no rudimentary knowledge of the piano. I play chords I found on my own, but don't know the names for. I play by ear and I will take bits and pieces of other songs I got comfortable with, and use them when making my own interpretations of music Like the left hand triad octave from Linus and Lucy and I'll use that as accompanyment to what my right hand is playing.

Anyway, I'm more focused on piano now and starting to study, learn my scales, doing inversion exercises, doing runs up and down the piano with one or both hands, And that's my daily practice at this point. I have my runs smoothed out so they are very smooth going from pinky to hooking thumb under etc.