2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#1686110 05/28/11 02:43 PM
M
mdb2303 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Dear Forumites, I hope you find this useful.

Background: I'm a professional pianist/teacher. There is no doubt that in an ideal world we'd all like to live in a grand mansion with a room big and tall enough to house a Steinway grand. But we don't. Hence we all need to compromise. With baby grands, uprights, digitals. I am constantly asked by parents what digital they should buy. Often they live in flats, have uncompromising neighbours and digitals are the only option.

So... I'm on the never ending quest to find a digital piano which will provide a budding pianist with an instrument which will help them develop as far as possible as a pianist.

How do the new CLP480 and CLP 470 fit the bill?

CLP 480:

- Keyboard: ok, nothing special, basically the same keyboard as the 380. I'm disappointed that Yamaha hasn't used the same keyboard they use for the N1-3, given that the AvantGrand is now old technology. The only reason I can think of for not doing this is to keep up sales of the N3.