2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (APianistHasNoName, Bruce Sato, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 1,965 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
OP Offline
T
Hi!

First off a little introduction to my life, as it will probably help in making decisions on what to buy.
I'm a Dutch researcher, living in Finland to work, often traveling to other countries for conferences or fieldwork, and often traveling to Sweden to see my girlfriend.

As you can see, lot's of traveling with a very non-standard schedule.

However, while I know this isn't the most conductive for learning an instrument properly, I really enjoy teaching myself things (programming, painting, bit of guitar, cooking).
So I've been reading if it's possible to learn Piano online, and came across Musiah, which seems to offer what I'm looking for. The subscription is quite cheap and after extensive reading it seems to be a good way to go (as I don't have the possibility to get a real life teacher with my schedule).

Options I found
However, I've been looking into what to buy for a first instrument. After reading lots of reviews I've found 3 instruments that are also available here:

Roland F20: A true digital piano (88 keys). This one does have weighted keys, but also costs twice the amount of the other ones. The sound is apparently really good, but the weighting is a bit off according to some reviews (595 euro's).