2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,123 guests, and 336 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
I've been playing piano for six months, using a Casio LK-55. I think it's high time for an upgrade to a real digital piano, but I am clueless as to which one I should choose.

I would prefer a portable one instead of a furniture piece. I'm not going to travel with it, but i want to be able to put it on a desk and move it around inside the house. I would like it to have a built in metronome, a record function and also many presets to play around with. I want high quality built in speakers and an audio jack for playing with headphones. It should also have a good sustain pedal.

I can go up to $1000, but I would prefer a little bit lower. Many thanks to anyone who takes their time responding to this thread.

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
I recommend the Casio PX-160. It has all that you ask for, and probably the best DP at the sub-$1k range. You can get one for around $500 USD. Casio also has other models in the Privia line that are still under the $1k budget, the they contain the same action as the PX-160. Just more features, better speakers, etc., so it's good to try them each out to see what features you want.

You can also compare with Kawai ES100 which is a bit pricier at $700, but it's important to have a few to choose from - you want to go with what you like the best.

Yamaha has the P115 which I think is around $600, but the action isn't very good.