2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,898 guests, and 338 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
OP Offline
N
I almost posted this in the Composer's Lounge, but I couldn't seem to find any other topic related with software or anything from the 21th century for that matter so I decided to come here in the end, hope I'm not wrong =).

Since I started playing piano I've also been toying with any software I could find / test / borrow, because I want to compose some day and by that time I think it would be a good idea to know a little bit about how the computer can help me with that.

So far I've tested Pianoteq software, which sounds great but as far as I know is nothing else than a piano "simulator" and Ableton Live 8, which seems to be too focused on electronic music and live improvisation.

While it may just be that I don't know how to use these programs right, I feel they aren't exactly what I'm looking for. Could you please give me a little rundown of the most useful / popular programs to help with composing / arranging music using a midi keyboard?

Thanks!

M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
You need a sequencer. I.e., something that allows you to record, arrange, and edit MIDI. Stuff like Pianoteq is what gives you the sound. But you need the MIDI to lay it all out.

I use Pro Tools, but Logic is supposed to be particularly great for composing and arranging MIDI. A friend of mine raves about Reason, but I'm not familiar with it.

C
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
C