2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Adam Reynolds, AJMurphy, Barry_Braksick, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, 7 invisible), 1,596 guests, and 222 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
LR26 Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hello, is anyone using VSL CFX on a M1 MacMini with only 8gb RAM? If so, how well is it working?
Thanks.

J
J
I'm using Apple MainStage on a Mac Mini M1 with 16G with Garittan CFX Abbey Road as my main piano VST. On a patch using only the CFX the processor varies between 15 and 30% use. I've been using it for more than 2 years and it never failed. I have other patches combining multiple sounds for other VSTs and it never crashed, never cut, never overloaded. And this computer is dead silent. I never heard the fan running. It is as silent as an iPad.

Kawai MP7SE
I
Online Content
I
The issue would not be processor usage, but memory usage. I imagine if you run the VST alone, 8GB RAM should be enough. Problem could arise when you run the VST alongside some other applications at the same time - if the combined RAM usage (including whatever the operating system uses) exceeds 8GB, then some of those memory pages would have to be swapped to the SSD drive which would be slower and may cause hiccup.

B
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
B
Thanks, guys, for the details! This is something I'm considering at the moment and real world info is helpful!

I
Online Content
I