Yamaha vs. Cable Nelson

Posted by: somanychoices

Yamaha vs. Cable Nelson - 07/22/06 08:38 PM

Hi everyone!

I just started learning how to play the piano and am currently playing on a keyboard. I am rapidly approaching the point where I need a real piano. I plan on spending around $3,500-$4,000 on a piano. I went to the piano dealership today and was offered a Yamaha T116 in polished ebony finish for $4,495. Is that a good price? The dealer also offered to sell me a Cable Nelson CN116, also in polished ebony, for under $3,500. The dealer needs to talk to someone before he can offer me a solid price, which won't be until Monday or Tuesday. The dealer said it's the same piano as the Yamaha, just a lot cheaper. Is there a difference between the Cable Nelson and the Yamaha?

Thanks for your help!
Posted by: Jerry Cohen, RPT

Re: Yamaha vs. Cable Nelson - 07/22/06 08:51 PM

I just tuned a Cable Nelson CN116 last week. It seems to be identical to the T116, except made in China (apparently by Yamaha). The workmanship was excellent. The regulation of the action was perfect. The only negative was the pinblock which felt typically Chinese - rediculously tight and difficult to control. Yamahas are usually very easy to tune because the pins are smooth and responsive.

Overall, it seems like an excellent value. Perhaps others have more specific knowledge.
Posted by: Bob

Re: Yamaha vs. Cable Nelson - 07/22/06 09:11 PM

Maybe given some time, Yamaha can teach the Chinese what a good pinblock feels like, and how to string one. That would be a feather in their cap for sure. The feel of the tuning pins is not a customer issue, it's an issue for us techs. I hate it when a bad Chinese block causes me extra tuning time. Time is money.

Re: Yamaha vs. Cable Nelson - 07/24/06 01:05 PM

Thanks! It sounds like the Cable Nelson will be a good alternative to the more expensive Yamaha.