Are piano stores trying to go out of business?

Posted by: KillerCharlie

Are piano stores trying to go out of business? - 12/06/12 12:06 AM

I basically got kicked out of a piano store this weekend...

I was in Portland to hear Valentina Lisitsa. Since I'm very close to buying a grand piano in the $20k+ range and I've checked out my local market a lot, I did some piano shopping there.

The first store I went to they were pretty friendly at first. They had a two instruments that I was extremely interested in. After playing for about 30 minutes, a little girl comes in with her piano teacher. While I'm playing the salesmen tell me to stop for a little bit so the girl can try out pianos with her teacher. After waiting a good 15 minutes (during which the girl played maybe 1-2 minutes), I started playing again. The salesman I was talking to came over and told me to stop, so I did. Another 15 minutes and the same thing - this girl has maybe been taking lessons 2 years and is obviously a beginner. For every minute she plays, her teacher is chatting with the salesman for 10. They told me to stop again... the third time another customer started playing so I played too. They told me she'd be done in 20 minutes. After 30 minutes (and her not playing more than 5 of that), I started playing again. When another salesman came up to I had it and left the store.

I drove 3 hours and was about to pay $20k cash for a piano, but I couldn't play because this little girl was trying out a few cheap uprights. Again, she was playing maybe 10% of the time. I was pretty pissed off.

So then I went to the next store in town. This is a very large store, and I had checked their website the day before. It turns out they weren't letting customers into the whole store because they were having a recital for kids. Why do they not bother telling their customers that they're basically closed the entire day on a busy weekend?