Piano World Home Page
Posted By: bengera the piano - 02/16/13 01:34 AM
2-15-2013
Being new to this forum, I'd like to start by saying that I am an enthusiast. I still think that whoever decided to throw the harp into a wooden box, then add the hammer action and the rest, did us a huge favor. What a magnificent repertoire has been written for this King instrument.

But the piano (keyboard) is a unique instrument for which I have fundamental issues that I can't resolve (I have been searching and asking). And I think they are unique to the keyboard (the only instrument I play).
Maybe someone can help and show me how ignorant I am (use all the math or terminology u wish, I am a scientist).

1. Why is the octave divided into 7+5. Why is F# a dark key but E# a regular F?
Why not 6 whites and 6 blacks?
2. I don't think its the C-major scale (which is "pleasant" C to B, w/o the dark notes), I'm pretty sure the A minor has priority (most Gregorian chants are written in a). Is the a-minor the reason (also A to G w/o the black notes)?
3. Why are tuners using "stretching" when they tune?
4. Why are pros insisting the G-flat is different than F#? If I transcribe the Schubert G-flat Impromtu to F# and play it, nobody will ever be able to tell at what of the 2 keys I am playing. Right?
5. How come nobody writes in A# major but there is tons in B-flat? Or otherwise, there is some music in C# major (not much indeed) why was it not written in D-flat?

Thanks for your help, I have a bunch of other fundamental problems but this will be a nice beginning.

=bengera
Posted By: bennevis Re: the piano - 02/16/13 01:41 AM
This might answer some of your questions:
http://youtu.be/VRlp-OH0OEA.

You'll understand why E sharp is not the same as F (except on a keyboard tuned to equal temperament), how the octave is subdivided etc, and so on.
Posted By: bengera Re: the piano - 02/16/13 02:50 AM
Hi there,

I am immensely obliged to u, this is the beginning of an understanding.