Piano World Home Page
Hello,

Can you guys offer some piano suggestions based on my situation outlined below:

I am a rock musician and songwriter, drummer first and foremost, and keyboards & sequencing as well in my band. I'm 35 yrs old. I only recently started formal training last November using the John Thompson Adult Book 1 which I'm 85% through. Priot to this I learned playing by ear and intuitively. I use the piano a lot to write songs and that's the main goal with lessons... to become a more fluid player so as to be help my song ideas as they come.

Piano-wise I recently purchased a Baldwin Hamilton upright as a starter piano to get the ball rolling on an acoustic piano right away.

Now that I have the Baldwin I'm trying to set my next goal to save up for a better piano, specifically a baby grand or grand piano that is decent quality for my needs. Again I won't be a concert pianist, that's not my goal. I'll only ever use it to write songs and record on our albums, as well as practice for my weekly lessons.

So if I were to save up money towards a baby grand or grand, what are your recommendations? I know that a vague question will yield vague answers so with that said, being that I don't know much about pianos, here are my basic tonal & aesthetic piano preferences:

* I generally like warmer, darker tones with nice bass, not interested in a very bright piano. I like satin ebony finish for sure. Budget-wise I'm not sure but is $7-$10k a decent budget to work towards for something decent?

Any suggestions greatly appreciated, thanks!
Start saving and go shopping!
If you are considering a used grand, you might find something which will suit you within your budget.

For a new piano, there are some excellent grands, with the tone you prefer, in the $15-20K range.
Yes feel free to recommend used models too, I'm definitely open to that, so long as its in good condition and still young in age like maybe a few years old is ok.
John,