How big is a Kawai KG-6 ???

Posted by: Self Taught

How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/27/05 10:35 PM

I'm taking delivery of Kawai KG-6 on Monday. It is GORGEOUS. The serial # puts it as a 1993 production. All original. Feel and tone are magnificent... The Bass will knock your socks off...

But I'm totally confused. I was looking for a KG 3 or KG5, but I fell in love with the KG-6. The plate is stamped KG6 and they told me it's a 6'10" grand. The Kawai site shows it as a 7'4". I found a Japanese site showint it in mm as 2060 mm or just under 7 feet. I even saw one place selling one as a 7'6".

Whose crazy? Can anyone tell me what size it really should be? I figure that I'll simply measure it when it arrives. In the meantime, it's driving me NUTS!!!

I can't wait for Monday.

Thanks,
Mike
Posted by: Piano*Dad

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/27/05 11:25 PM

Everything I've ever seen suggests that a KG-6 is 7'4". If it's driving you crazy, why can't you go back to the dealer and bring your tape measure \:D

David F

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/28/05 09:39 AM

If he were closer I would, but it's 5 hours each way....

Monday will come soon enough.

Thanks,

Mike
Posted by: KawaiDon

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/29/05 06:26 PM

Self Taught,

Please send me a private note here on Piano World with the serial number. As far as I know, the KG-6 was discontinued in the early 80s, so could not have been made in 1993.

Perhaps the model is actually a GS-60? That would be under 7' and could have been made in 1993.
Posted by: Niles Duncan

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/30/05 11:44 PM

I recently had a Kawai KG6C of 1975 manufacture in my shop that I measured at 7'3".

Niles Duncan
Piano rebuilder, Pasadena, CA
www.pianosource.com
Posted by: mamma2my3sons

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/31/05 09:41 PM

What year & size did it turn out to be?
Posted by: KawaiDon

Re: How big is a Kawai KG-6 ??? - 08/31/05 10:30 PM