Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano?

Posted by: adak

Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:09 PM

I am a beginner and if I get a tuning fork will it help improve my hearing? I was thinking of buying a 440 hz tuning fork. Is this a good idea?
Posted by: BDB

Re: Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:21 PM

No, but it will help you determine how badly your piano is out of tune. You might be able to find a 440 signal on the internet, so if you have a device that can play that you could compare it with your piano.

Having a well-tuned piano will help your hearing.
Posted by: bennevis

Re: Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:43 PM

You already have a digital that never goes out of tune, and its A = 440Hz, like all A's in digitals. There is no point getting a tuning fork - just play that A whenever you want to know what it sounds like.

This is not necessarily true in acoustics, depending on how they have been tuned, or whether they are actually in tune.
Posted by: landorrano

Re: Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:48 PM

A pitch fork will give better results!

Re: Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:52 PM

There is no guarantee that a digital is ever in tune, let alone that it will never go out of tune. Some manufacturers have a lot more tolerance in their tunings than I do.

But A-440 is likely to be in tune, because that is the reference point most people use. But there can be problems with that, too.
Posted by: bennevis

Re: Will buying a tuning fork help me better learn piano? - 03/01/13 12:56 PM

Originally Posted By: BDB
There is no guarantee that a digital is ever in tune, let alone that it will never go out of tune. Some manufacturers have a lot more tolerance in their tunings than I do.