My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48

Posted by: TheMadMan86

My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 10:39 AM

Here is my video of me playing the C minor nocturne by Chopin. I apologize for the mistakes, my dog kept running in and out. I eventually gave up. If the reactions are good, I will re record this on a better piano, a grand I hope. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxwPB2RSIJI
Posted by: cruiser

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 10:42 AM

I'm looking forward to seeing your video but... where's the link? \:\)

In the meantime, have you seen this thread?

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 10:47 AM

Edited my post link is there sorry about that. Thanks for the link. I am no adult beginner, but im sure there are things I can learn from the post. I learned the Nocturne in a Month when I was 17, I am 21 in the video. It my favorite piece, and I try to keep it in my recital programs even when im busy with many other pieces.
Posted by: Max W

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 12:37 PM

You're very assertive with your interpretation, good job.
Posted by: L'echange

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 01:01 PM

I haven't listened to this piece for a long while, and I really enjoyed it! Thanks for getting me back into it... it's so beautiful. I think you have a very nice pace and feeling, and for the piano and recording quality, I was suprised with your sound.

Good Job!
Posted by: Robert Kenessy

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 03:44 PM

Great, I especially liked the agitato/doppio movimento where I love the balance between the melody and the restless hammering (If you allow me this rather Bartókian

If I may say what I would play differently, it is the first section, where I would refrain from any rubato. It is a funeral march after all, and you can't march (and bear a casket) to a wiggly rhythm.
Posted by: BruceD

Re: My Chopin Nocturne Op. No. 48 - 11/14/07 07:58 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Robert Kenessey: