Help with G/B Slash Chord

Posted by: Cashley

Help with G/B Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:16 AM

I have come across many songs with G/B slash chord.

Does anyone know the origin of a G/B slash chord ? It doesn't seem to fit into any of the 7th, 9th or 11th chords permutations I know.
Posted by: R0B

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:26 AM

Are you sure it is not a Bm/G chord?

This would be G in the bass, and B,D,F#

A B/G would be G in the bass, and B,D#, F# (not a pleasing sound)

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:31 AM

I'm very sure it's G/B. It's not B/G.

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:43 AM

Hmmm... Your original, unedited post, stated a B/G chord.

Hence my original reply.

A G/B chord is simply a B in the bass, and G,B,D, or one of it's inversions. Normally, B,D,G suits this chord.
Posted by: J.A.S

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:45 AM

Originally Posted By: Cashley

While I'm by no means an expert in pop-music chords, it seems to me that G/B is the G major chord with B as the bass note, i.e. the 1st inversion of the G chord.

Edit: R0B, we were typing at the same time, you are faster smile

Posted by: beeboss

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:48 AM

G/B is G major 1st inversion

but in the subject line you said B/G

that would be like a G maj 7 sharp 5 chord

(very pleasing in my opinion)

hope that helps

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 11:53 AM

I know it's the 1st inversion of G major.

But isn't it strange to play note B as bass ?

Re: Help with B/G Slash Chord - 03/24/10 12:03 PM

I know it's the 1st inversion of G major.

But isn't it strange to play note B as bass ?

Not if the next chord is a C major root position, or an Am7.

It is a common progression.

Try playing a Bass A, in the left hand, and the notes, A,C,E,G an octave higher, in the right hand, then,a bass B, with B,D,G in the right hand, then a bass C, with C,E,G in the right, and you will see/hear how the G/B fits in.