Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Jared Hoeft Future Career Plans - 10/20/10 05:48 AM
Hello. I'm a sophomore in college studying music composition, and my ultimate career goal is to make a living from writing music. I've already begun the process of self-promoting my music, and I have actually gotten some commissions already, which is incredibly promising! Still, I know I will need some steady source of income, and I really have a desire to pass my knowledge of the piano down to younger kids. The problem is, I wouldn't consider myself to be a fabulous teacher!

I'm planning on taking a pedagogy class in my senior year of college, but I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions for me? Are there any websites or programs I could look into for help with becoming a piano instructor? Thank you so much!
Posted By: Avguste Antonov Re: Future Career Plans - 10/20/10 06:48 AM
Great question.

Besides knowledge, I think a teacher needs patience and ability to communicate with kids. Since you are referring to young kids, I think you should be able to keep them interested in their lessons, progressing, while also being demanding.
Besides the pedagogy class, I would also suggest you just start teaching using some of the method books such as Faber, Alfred.
Advertise for students in your area. The more you teach, the more success you will get.And the more you teach, the better you will get.

Now, onto the composition. I know many composers who make a living out of writing commissions, doing lectures at colleges and so forth. If you are really wanting to live from writing music, I would strongly suggest for you to focus on that.
And fully focusing on composition and commissions doesn't prevent you from teaching. Just understand and keep in mind what your main goal is.
Posted By: Jared Hoeft Re: Future Career Plans - 10/20/10 07:20 AM