theory book filled with errors... What to do?

Posted by: Nikolas

theory book filled with errors... What to do? - 10/18/12 04:37 PM

I have this small situation, although the tendency to 'do nothing' seems to be wise right now... :-/

I have an adult student and we're getting along fine. So when he asked me for more books, etc, I offered to go and buy them for him. Since I can also get a discount as a music teacher, I could save him some $$$...

All this is fine, but the theory book I bought is AWFUL. It's got several errors, typos, non cleaned layout (the words actually are ON the staves, not above or bellow, which makes it hard to read) and above all there's NO mention about music rests! NOTHING at all!

I mean ok, one could get away with a few typos (I should know about that), but to actually do NOT have any information about rests?!?!? Come on... It's a basic theory book!

So my question and dilemma:

The publisher is the best known publisher in Greece and they have the biggest line of stores here. My scores are in their stores.

So do I call them to let them know that this book SUCKS? Do I offer a public review? Do I remain silent? It's an AWFUL book, I repeat that! frown And it cost almost 27$!!! including the teachers discount.

Ideas?
Posted by: AZNpiano

Re: theory book filled with errors... What to do? - 10/18/12 04:44 PM

Musicians are not the best writers in the world. Some of the theory textbooks my students are using for their music class in school are just ___________ (fill in with your worst adjective).

Why don't you just teach the theory by yourself? You can make your own worksheets easily with Finale. It's probably better than anything you can buy, really.

Re: theory book filled with errors... What to do? - 10/18/12 04:50 PM

time restrains AZN! No wife at home, and multi businesses running...