Advice on curling fingers

Posted by: wolfetho

Advice on curling fingers - 02/17/13 09:05 PM

Hello:

I've been playing the piano for over 30 years, and recently I developed a bad habit. When I use my 4th and 5th fingers in my right hand, I am curling my middle finger under, and sometimes my index finger will stick straight out.I know this is a sign of tension in my right hand, but I wonder if anyone has some advice on how to cure this bad habit.

I've also been having trouble with tendonitis in my right wrist and forearm from using the computer,and I think this might be related.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom
Posted by: lechuan

Re: Advice on curling fingers - 02/18/13 01:30 AM

I had a similar sounding problem. It sounds like you may be grasping with your fingers. What helped me was thinking of my fingers more as wiggling from a high, relaxed position (watch Horowitz play in slow motion, he keeps his fingers very relaxed, only forming a strong finger arch for the moment of impact), and falling into the keys, NOT grasping the keys.

I used to have a lot of wrist pain from PC and piano use (10+ hours per day) I haven't had many issues after working on releasing tension. I also got an Evoluent Vertical mouse which I find helpful for PC work.

If you haven't already, pick up a copy of "What every Pianist needs to know about the body" (book), "The Trigger Point Therapy Workbook", "Freeing the Caged Bird" (DVD), and possibly a teacher with experience in correcting such things.
Posted by: ten left thumbs

Re: Advice on curling fingers - 02/18/13 02:43 AM

It's difficult to know without seeing you, but you could try this: