Piano World Home Page
Greetings all,
I have been playing piano for years and now I'm a college student majoring in music. Over the last year though I've become interested in working as a piano technician, and have been training as such.
Just curious to see what some of your early experiences were. How old were you when you started? Apprenticing? When you went professional?
I was 16 years old when I first started!
Hard to say when exactly. I collected my first fee from a customer when I was 14, so it had to be some time before that. I used to go with my father sometimes when I wasn't in school and he'd sit me beside him on the bench when he was tuning and I'd have to pull out the temperament strip when he was ready to move to the next note. At first he'd tell me and eventually I knew. I did bridle straps when I was in 3rd grade.

But I didn't pass my PTG exam until I was 21, so Lucas has me beat by 3 years, there. (At the time it wasn't called RPT, it was "Craftsman".

I've been at it for 50 years now and I'm still learning. It wasn't until about 20 years ago that I was happy with my own tunings -- although other people were.
17 When I started learning, working for Curtis Music Stores in Lynn, MA.

Old Raymond Curtis was about 80 then (1968), and had once worked in the Chickering factory.
George Cole was a graduate of North Bennett Street. Two great guys.

As Keith says, still learning.
Posted By: BDB Re: How old were you when you started tuning? - 08/30/15 01:37 AM
I was about 20, in college. I was recently on campus tuning pianos, realizing that it is unlikely that any of the students who will be taking classes were born when I started tuning those pianos.
Originally Posted by Justice Post
Greetings all,
I have been playing piano for years and now I'm a college student majoring in music. Over the last year though I've become interested in working as a piano technician, and have been training as such.