2012 ABF Holiday Performances

Posted by: Mr Super-Hunky

2012 ABF Holiday Performances - 11/29/12 05:51 PM

Once again it is that time of year to post up your seasonal holiday performances for everyone to enjoy. If your piece is an X-mas tune, or holiday related, please post it up here in order to keep everyones submission in one place for easy access and listening.

So who's going first?
Posted by: Greener

Re: 2012 ABF Holiday Performances - 11/29/12 06:20 PM

What a great idea ... how exciting. Thanks, Mr Super_hunky. I had already posted this in the December bar, but with encouragement, here it is again for the Christmas collection.

Grown Up Christmas List
Posted by: kenjazz

Re: 2012 ABF Holiday Performances - 11/29/12 07:06 PM

The Holiday season is a great time to take stock of the progress (or lack thereof) that we've made over the years. I usually like to try to record two Christmas/holiday-related numbers around this time of year. Since this is my first year on the ABF, I will bore you with my whole holiday catalog. Fire sale - all songs must go!

This one is hot off the presses. I will do one more before the season is over (hopefully).

Christmas Time Is Here

Here is the blog entry for it:
Christmas Time Is Here blog entry

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen is a "free jazz" number which one would think should not appeal to most people. But this is by far my most downloaded number. I remember thinking that this was an advancement because the only advice that I got from my piano teacher on the arrangement was to consider using some fourths in the melody.

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen blog entry

Auld Lang Syne was done as a solo piano arrangement. This is when I realized that I had hopelessly forgotten the little that
I had learned about improvising for solo piano. I
re-harmonized the beginning and end of this to be as dark as humanly possible, befitting the outlook for 2012.

Auld Lang Syne

Auld Lang Syne blog post