Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Vince R Sight Reading Books - Level 1 - 02/15/13 10:06 AM
Hello everyone smile

I am an older adult beginner and would like to know if you can recommend some good sight reading books.

Vincent
Posted By: Michael_99 Re: Sight Reading Books - Level 1 - 02/15/13 10:41 AM
Well, I guess there are special sight reading books, but you can just buy for about 10 dollars a beginners learning to play the piano book 1 from any music store and work through it playing and reading the simply music and you will learn to read the music. It is that simple, just read and play the little tunes. It took me about 6 months of playing and reading the simple piano book 1 and then I was able to read the music of the treble and bass clefs easily. It is the old story, just sitting down at the piano and playing little tunes at the piano hour after hour, day after day, week after wekk, month after month. It all happens slowly. The reason I stress a piano beginner book is that you can concentrate on the reading and playiing as opposed to something where it is too complicated and there would be lots of complicated counting of the measures.
I am much older than you are, so I have been there. Cheers, and good luck.
Posted By: fizikisto Re: Sight Reading Books - Level 1 - 02/15/13 12:03 PM
Vince,
I can commend "Basics in Rhythm" by Garwood Whaley. This is dedicated to just reading rhythmic values. You clap them out, and there's a CD that comes with it so that you can be sure that you're matching them correctly. Rhythm is one of the hardest things for beginners to get down (at least to get it down well). Part of the problem is that when you're trying to read the score, move your fingers to the notes, play the notes with the correct force (as indicated by the score) and keep time, it can be too much to coordinate all at once.