Piano World Home Page
Hello. A total beginner here looking to buy for my first digital piano. I've been looking for used but there don't seem to be many of them moving around here so I'll probably have to get a new one. I'm probably going for Casio CDP-120 or Yamaha P-35 because they're in a comfortable price range. I'm really interested in starting piano as a hobby, but at this point I can't tell if I'll still be playing in a year so I'd rather not invest too much money.

I went to a local music shop this week to get a feel on the pianos but as a newbie it's hard to tell anything about the action. Casio and Yamaha action seems to a thing that people have different opinions on. The salesperson helping me at the shop said that the best advice he can give me is that I should come back with headphones and try the pianos out and go for the one that I like most action and sound wise.

Something I'm slightly concerned about is the 32 note polyphony of the Yamaha, but the way I understand, if it ever becomes a problem you can deal with that by using a computer with the piano via USB/MIDI.

Here are the pianos I've been looking at:

- Casio CDP-120 385€
- Yamaha P-35 440€
- Casio CDP-220R 479€ (Apparently CDP-120 + more features)
- Casio Privia PX-135 550€ (Probably over my budget)
- Casio Privia PX-320 545€ ^

Thanks in advance, any help would be appreciated.
From what Ive been reading the CDP120-follow up to the previous CDP100-, is quite a good choice, keyboard action and tone wise. Speakers may be a weak issue but then again maybe not. Personally if I had the money I would opt for the slightly higher priced Privia range, PX320 and 350.
Good luck, Im in the same boat except at the moment I have zero budget!
Hi raikkU, welcome to Piano World!

I agree with the salesman, you need to go back with headphones and listen and play as much as you can before you decide.

What about the Yamaha P-105? This one has 128 polyphony. It might be over your budget.

Best of luck to you...