Shopping game: Play two items to assess an instrument

Posted by: Oongawa

Shopping game: Play two items to assess an instrument - 05/04/13 03:29 PM

A game, just for fun - but I'm collecting some useful ideas, too...

Imagine you're shopping for a piano. (I'm not at the moment but will be in the not-too-distant future).

You are permitted to play only two works, songs, or exercises to assess the instrument.

So, it's not a performance, you're not out to impress the salesman or the other shoppers in the store etc. You're trying to assess the instrument, sound, touch, etc.

What TWO items do you play to help you in your decision?

For me, I'm just edging out of the newbie ranks. I'd play Tarantelle, so asses responsiveness, and something from Burgmuller op 100, like Sincerity.
Posted by: Dulcetta

Re: Shopping game: Play two items to assess an instrument - 05/04/13 03:35 PM

I'm just a novice so it would simply be scales for me atm.
My local music shop however has a charity collection tin next to a list of banned pieces that you are not allowed to play when trying out an instrument , or you have to make a donation lol.
Top of the list for piano is Fur Elise and Sweet Child of Mine for guitar.
Posted by: Polyphonist

Re: Shopping game: Play two items to assess an instrument - 05/04/13 03:38 PM

When trying instruments, I just play a bunch of different techniques (octaves, fast scales, arpeggios, chords, double notes, etc) and see how responsive the action is and how much I like the tone. Then I'll play a few excerpts from whatever works I'm in the mood for.
Posted by: AimeeO

Re: Shopping game: Play two items to assess an instrument - 05/04/13 03:40 PM

This is really dumb, and I didn't (because I couldn't!), but I've always thought the opening bars of Rachmaninov's 2nd concerto would be a brilliant idea, since my favorite piano sounds come from the bass end, and I don't want a horrible sounding bass. I think I wound up playing scales and chords down at that end.