Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Michael_99 piano journey beyond the bench - 07/09/13 06:05 PM
When I started playing the piano, I, of course, enjoyed the journey very much. But there was something missing. I was content with the fact that I couldn't afford a teacher. I was content with my progress. I was not content with my practice time of at least a hour a day - energy permitting - but it is improving slowly. I would be content if I could play 3 hours a day - I am not there yet. So what was missing? Well, the other day I headed out to the university. Growing up in a small isolated town, I very much appreciate living in a city with a university. I could go - and I did go - but more recently I would have to turn around and head home because my energy level was fading like a cheap battery. It could be that I have a better battery charger now or things are improving. It was wonderful. I found a comfortable chair and grabbed some piano magazines, Pianist, International Piano, and one that I hadn't seen before "Clavier companion". Some great stories about Chopin and his music and Schumann and his music. This is what was missing from my piano journey. Books, magazines, pamphlets on affordable piano events. An affordable education within reach. A priceless gift. Now there is nothing missing in my piano journey.
Posted By: JosephAC Re: piano journey beyond the bench - 07/09/13 07:55 PM
Some days, I would practice for 4-5 hours a day and other days hardly one hour. While energy level is an important factor, there are definitely other determinant factors. I notice that after a holiday break, I have a new outlook, a new optiminum, a new determination to spend more time on the bench.
Nowadays, my discipline and goodwill is hampered and I am continously wondering and searching for the root cause. It seems to me that lack of good night sleep is my biggest deterrent.