Hi and Introduction

Posted by: DaveInMichigan

Hi and Introduction - 01/25/09 10:41 AM

Hi, I have joined this forum for about a week now. I guess it is time for me to make an introduction.

I studied electronic organ when I was in high school, and then took 2 semesters of piano in college, and then didn't continue with any formal lessons. I did continue to play from time to time, and because of my engineering background, I like the theoretical stuffs, so I read on music theory, arrangement, improvisation and composition and those types of things (although I didn't do it very systematically or consistently).

At 48 now, I am restarting my piano playing. But I am also restarting my drawing and painting. Both fine arts and music requires a lot of attention and discipline, so I am not sure which way I will go more. More likely arts. It is hard to choose but if I compare, I think I like arts a little better than music.

Another thing is although both arts and music are difficult, painting in most cases/situations is not performing arts, so in that sense at least it is a little "easier." If a piece fails, you throw it away and do another one and no one even knows.

But I do want to get more serious in classical music and hopefully build up some repertoire. I also play hymns.

It is nice to be here. I am receiving a lot of help already!
Posted by: epf

Re: Hi and Introduction - 01/25/09 10:53 AM

Dave,

Welcome to the forum! We hope to hear some of your music here (perhaps in the ABF recitals).

Ed
Posted by: NancyM333

Re: Hi and Introduction - 01/25/09 03:36 PM

Welcome, Dave. We're about the same age, and I rarely see people my age take up a hobby. It's amazing how many people think they don't have time or talent for it! What inspired you to start back with the arts?

Nancy

Re: Hi and Introduction - 01/25/09 07:28 PM

Ed and Nancy, thanks for the welcome!