Piano World Home Page
Posted By: dude112 Beginner and self-study - 09/06/09 06:59 PM
I'm new in this forum so hello.
I'm a student and want to learn piano/keyboard. I have absolutely no musical background so I'll be learning everything from scratch, aside from music class i had in highschool but that didn't have anything to do with playing instruments.

I bought an 88key keyboard (m-audio prokeys) to practice. Finances are a bit tight at the moment so i thought i'd try self study for the moment. Reading this forum I see everyone suggests getting a teacher to prevent bad habits but I simply don't have the finances atm.

Searching the internet for courses I came across a lot of reviews that sounded like adverts for products like:
Learn and master Piano, Piano for all, Rocket piano.

But in fora there is little bad spoken about these courses so i guess they deliver the goods. There have been testimonies in here as well about these products...

In my search I never came across alfred's books but they seem to be in very high regards here so I might look for those.
A friend of mine also has some Bastien books which I can borrow (also never heard of).

My goal is to be able to play casually and be able to play pop and film music without sheetmusic. I think it's called playing by ear? Searching for courses playing by ear i came across "The Secrets To Playing Piano By Ear" by Jermaine Griggs.

So my question is, what course would be best to play pop and film music without a sheet? Or is playing by ear actually a very high end skill that comes after mastering the piano at a certain level?

Advice would be much appreciated,
Thanks.
Posted By: Mr_Lion Re: Beginner and self-study - 09/06/09 07:23 PM
Why not learn how to read music? It doesn't take a great deal of time to grasp the basics and most pop songs are very simple chord progressions and can easily be picked up. The ones that aren't so simple may be to complex to figure out by ear, especially for the bass clef.