Keyboard in Rock and Folk

Posted by: Victorius

Keyboard in Rock and Folk - 10/03/12 07:07 AM

Hello, I started to play in a rock band and it's my first time playing this genre. What do keyboardist play usually in a rock band? I am doing the chords but I'd like to do something more, but am not sure what and how. We have drums, bass guitar and 2 other guitars - 1 is rhythm guitar and the other I am not sure.

And I will meet with someone in a few days to talk about playing in a folk band, and would like to hear your hints what I must play there. The folk band have 1 guy with acoustic guitar and other guy with acoustic guitar and doing the voice part. What am I supposed to play on my keyboard, bass and drums?
Posted by: Kbeaumont

Re: Keyboard in Rock and Folk - 10/03/12 12:24 PM

Chords and bass patterns are pretty much your meat & potatoes of both styles. You can embellish parts to provide interesting transitions using pentatonic & blues scales.

Rock can either be simple or demand quite a bit of technique. Depending on the style of rock you could be asked to improvise blues & pentatonic based solos. Progressive rock styles by artists like Yes, Steely Dan, Supertramp etc can have some very difficult solos with classical and jazz influenced lines. Rock songs can have organ parts from a full blown Hammond with distortion ala Deep Purple or combo organ like the Doors. Also there can be synthesizer parts like Jump from Van Halen, Piano like Billy Joel, Billy Preston, Chuck Leveall or electric piano (Rhodes or Wurlitzer) sounds. It all depends on what bands songs you will be playing. If your playing stuff like Coldplay its straight piano. Most of these sounds are on most modern keyboard workstations.

If its all original you can decide what works best and hopefully someday they will be playing your music. The best thing to do is immerse yourself in the songs maybe try and find note-for-note sheet music such as can be found HERE.