learning composition

Posted by: eboats

learning composition - 12/19/12 11:05 AM

hello, i have a background in classical and jazz piano, as well as composing music in more of a pop/rock vein. i'd like to learn more about classical composition, especially 20th century/contemporary classical theory and composition. any idea what books would be good to start with or whether it'd be beneficial to find a composition teacher? thanks.
Posted by: Nikolas

Re: learning composition - 12/19/12 02:23 PM

There is one book I can recommend as far as composition is concerned. This one: http://www.amazon.com/Twentieth-Century-...century+harmony

And there's also this: http://www.amazon.com/Materials-Techniqu...century+harmony which I haven't read, but appears to also be very good (and will order it once I finish this post from the US... It'll take a while to get here, but what the heck... It's Christmas, I deserve a present).

In my teachings as a composer I use the first book, extensively. Its break down of various subjects in harmony, cover a lot of ground!

I would think that getting a teacher would be the best approach, though. Composition is a very open subject and one can get lost without some guidance (without this meaning that the student should follow aesthetically his/her teacher).

Best of luck!
Posted by: Sean Montgomery

Re: learning composition - 12/19/12 02:40 PM

Hi there - I can also recommend this one:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Musical-Composition-Reginald-Smith-Brindle/dp/0193171074