"Dark Desires"

Posted by: Johnny-Boy

"Dark Desires" - 07/29/08 07:09 PM

Here's a semi-serious composition of mine. Hope you enjoy.

"Dark Desires"[/b]
http://schicksville.com/Music/DD-SundayMix.mp3

Best, John
Posted by: gemiknight

Re: "Dark Desires" - 07/29/08 07:36 PM

There's a lot of dissonance, but I think it sounds neat, and it sure goes with the title. I can picture what you are visualizing... More specifically, I am depicting a scene from Dracula.

Again, I'm no expert at composition, but as a peer, I really like this composition. It sounds to me like you put a lot of work into and still held on to it's purpose. Emotionally, I feel this is a very effective piece. Good job!
Posted by: James McFadyen

Re: "Dark Desires" - 07/29/08 08:02 PM

Sounds OK and would fit well with a low-budget film on Sci-fi, maybe even LivingTV!

Try to be a bit more original and perhaps listen to a bit of Stravinsky and Ligeti... it brings a whole new meaning to dark!

The quasi-romanticism mixed with 1980's horror motif's don't really sit well anymore. If you're going for a TV career, sure, LivingTV may be interested but in all honesty, anything outside this idiom is going to mean a serious change in musical direction for you if you want to stand out.
Posted by: Johnny-Boy

Re: "Dark Desires" - 07/29/08 11:34 PM

Thanks for the feedback Gemi and James! It’s always interesting to hear different opinions – and I really appreciate it.

Glad the title made sense to you Gemi. Actually I was thinking more in terms of a murder mystery/ thriller, rather than horror. More specific; a beautiful woman that has a strong desire to slit mens’ throats (I guess that would be horror). I even used a photo of such a woman as inspiration. I do have two tracks titled “Dracula” & “Vampire” though.