Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Theowne Question about selling recordings - 12/06/08 08:33 PM
This may be something of a silly question, but is it legal to sell your own recordings of music by (dead) classical composers? There aren't any royalties that need to be paid, are there?
Posted By: Larisa Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/06/08 08:43 PM
If the composition is in the public domain (i.e. composed before 1923), you don't need to pay royalties to anyone. If the composition is under copyright, you have to contact the copyright holder (typically the publishing company) and ask for a license to record the work. They'll want a royalty.

(note that I am not a lawyer (yet) and this does not constitute legal advice of any kind...)
Posted By: Kreisler Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/06/08 09:46 PM
You can record and perform the dead public domain people all you want.

For other stuff, you need what's called a Mechanical License. For some composers, this is handled by the copyright holder, but in many cases, licensing is handled by the Harry Fox Agency:

http://www.harryfox.com/index.jsp

(They do Gershwin, for example.)

For public performance, check with ASCAP, although ASCAP licensing is usually paid by the venue, not the performer.
Posted By: agent3x Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/06/08 09:50 PM
No public performance? I'm guessing this is only if you're charging for the performance? Or can you not play copyrighted works for the public at all?
Posted By: Larisa Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/06/08 11:48 PM
Of course you can play them - you just need to get permission from the copyright holder.
Posted By: Kreisler Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/07/08 02:29 AM
I believe it's only if you charge.

Since the royalties are a percentage of receipts, 0% of $0.00 is 0.
Posted By: Steve Chandler Re: Question about selling recordings - 12/08/08 06:22 PM