Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Dans Piano Service wind motor - 07/26/06 05:26 AM
Hi all. I am a piano technician but am recently interested in old players. Iam working on rebuilding a wind motor. I have been very carefull to make everything as air tight as it can be, wich I have been succesful at until I reached the slide valves. Am I expecting to much for them to be completely air tight because they are wood on wood, or is there some trick to get them there. I have managed to get the trunk, pneumatics and the connection of the pneumatics to the trunk air tight,but the slide valves are a different story.
Posted By: Grandpianoman Re: wind motor - 07/26/06 09:35 PM
Dan, you might want to do a search for "player piano repair" and send off an email to one of the people who repair them for a living..... they may give you some help. Also, a good book source would be the Art Reblitz book on player piano repair....you can google that, or use www.bookfinder.com

GP
Posted By: CTPianotech Re: wind motor - 07/31/06 12:15 AM
The two wooden surfaces sliding against eachother need to be sanded flat+smooth. Work your way up to 320, using a VERY FLAT sanding block. Dry graphite powder works extremly well as a lubricant. Greasy lubricants will gum things up in the long run.

Rich
Posted By: David Estey Re: wind motor - 01/31/07 10:55 PM
Unless the motor itself has splits or cracks at the point of contact of the slide valves to the wind motor, I would respectfully warn against sanding - because as CT Pianotec just emphasized VERY FLAT - he means VERY FLAT, and if it is off at all, it could make the motor useless.