Who uses headphone socket to record from?

Posted by: peterws

Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 05:14 AM

On my peeann-oh I have to do this, (no other output) and I like the results although a pure "digital piano" sound seems not to be on the cards; Pianoteq fills that gap quite nicely. I`d be interested in hearing others who do the same . . .and the results. Are you happy with them?
Posted by: o0Ampy0o

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 06:07 AM

Don't you have a Yamaha DGX 630 with USB?

If so, that would connect you to a computer and Audacity for a simple and free recording solution.



Connecting the DGX 630 to a computer page 105 of manual.
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 06:22 AM

The USB is USB2 output which doesn`t include audio. So I can transmit MIDI data files but that`s all. All saved songs are the same; playback through the piano is ok - which means headphone socket. The new 650 model has audio outputs that mine doesn`t have (Gallic Shrug)
Posted by: o0Ampy0o

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 06:27 AM

OK I wasn't thinking about that when I suggested using Audacity. (You mentioned Pianoteq even so I really missed it linking to hook up directions). You can transmit MIDI to a DAW to record. It won't be the piano's internal sounds which is what you may be specifically wanting to do.
Posted by: jarosujo

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 03:04 PM

I tried it as my DP doesn't have line-out (which should be more suitable for recording than headphone-out) and was not happy. I think I used Audacity and there was some noise in recording. But my headphones works fine with DP, so it was probably software problem. I am using DAW with vintage D for recording now and it works quite well. Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 06:33 PM

"Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)"

Some touch ups?? WHAAAAT?? (how d`ya do `em? cool)
Posted by: o0Ampy0o

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 06:39 PM

Peter,

Sometimes I cannot tell whether you are joking or serious. If you want to know how to touch up a MIDI recording in a DAW, basically, it is like moving bar graphs and aligning them with a grid. You can also cut or copy and paste a note with a particular attack and replace or place it wherever you want it. You change the key by pasting it in a different position on the grid.

smile
Posted by: scorpio

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 06/30/13 08:06 PM

"touch ups?" confused

Forget playing, let's just hand draw the notes in a midi file and record with your favorite software piano. Oh heck, why did I buy a digital piano in the first place???
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/01/13 03:54 AM

Ampy, I was guessing as much. But I`m shocked! I really wonder if I might be tempted to do the same . . . . .No. I think I`d rather give up and do something else . .
Posted by: pv88

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/01/13 11:11 AM

@peterws,

Here is an example of a recording I have done at the Kawai CA95 using only a single audio cable from the headphone jack to the computer in which I record directly into Audacity.

I also monitor the recording by listening to the playing through a pair of headphones from the 2nd headphone jack:

https://www.box.com/s/n5sejsycnhkhz2chl86h
Posted by: scorpio

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/01/13 11:25 AM

I found that the recording process can vary greatly based on the volume settings, in both Audacity and the DP. I have yet to find the sweet spot for my setup.

Another issue I have come across is that I get much more "noise" when using Audacity vs. my DAW (Mixcraft), with same settings.

Edit: others have had similar issues with Audacity (from reviewing several piano forums).
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 03:59 PM

pv88
Thanks for that. Great recording, nothing lacking there. The piano sparkles nicely. That`s set my mind at rest, anyway - I have a piano that is bloody unique! Like somebody`s thrown a tub o` treacle into the mix. ..
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 04:04 PM

Scorpio, I wonder if the noise you encounter is due to an earth loop? My piano has no earth . . .I had this trouble when using an earthed external amplifier with an earthed laptop. I disconnected the laptop earth and all was well.
Posted by: Recaredo

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 04:28 PM

I make my recordings from the headphone socket to the audio input on the computer, but I am not very pleased with the results.

I wonder if this kind of devices could improve the sound quality

http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_xenyx_302_usb.htm
Posted by: scorpio

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 04:31 PM

peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

Thanks for the idea and comment.
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 04:36 PM

" I made sure everything was grounded. "

The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .
Posted by: Daniel Corban

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/03/13 05:53 PM

It's possible that the resistance your computer, or whatever device, has on its input is causing the line noise if you do not hear it via headphones. Piano amps seem to be sensitive to this sort of thing. I assume if you are using the balanced line out from your piano, it may not have this problem.
Posted by: p.elvis

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/05/13 12:02 AM

http://www.pianoworld.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/1520096/1.html
Posted by: de cajon

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/05/13 03:43 AM

Originally Posted By: peterws
" I made sure everything was grounded. "

The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .


If nothing is grounded, don't touch a thing. And don't put your face anywhere near a microphone!

The idea is to have one item grounded and for everything else to take their ground from that. You want a ground chain but not a ground loop.

I suppose the higher voltage over here makes us more careful. I wouldn't want to go sucking on 230V from a microphone. [Edit] Hang on, you're in England! And still alive![/Edit]
Posted by: peterws

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/05/13 04:09 AM

Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!
Posted by: UKIkarus

Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? - 07/05/13 04:32 AM

Originally Posted By: scorpio
peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

Thanks for the idea and comment.



With regards to audacity producing noise in recordings I can vouch for that, I happen to be the same UKIkarus that administrates/moderates the KyleLandry website and have seen quite a few posts regarding such issues both on there and on other sites.

I have given it a shot myself over a USB audio/midi cable from my MOX88 which should have no noise at all being digital in nature and it does indeed add a small amount to the recordings, as such I have used Cubase since.

As for recording quality you will of course (as I'm sure you are aware) want to get the clearest and dare I say it (loudest without peaking/noise) sound you can get from the source straight into the software and if anything tweak the volume etc DOWN from there unless absolutely necessary, obviously less noise at the source results in less noise when processed smile


Originally Posted By: peterws
Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!



Cannot say I have ever experienced a shock from one yet, let's hope it remains that way laugh