Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability

Posted by: napster

Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability - 12/28/07 03:31 PM

I have been thinking about getting this keyboard, and was wondering if anyone has had one of these long enough to comment on its reliability. Thanks.
Posted by: wildpaws

Re: Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability - 12/29/07 09:49 AM

While I don't own either of these models, I can say that on the synth forums I belong to I have not seen any real issues posted. I can comment about Yamaha reliability in general, I've been using an SY77 synth since 1990, the only issues have been replacement of the internal battery after several years and replacement of the disk drive belt after 12 years, what I would consider completely normal maintainence repairs. About 85% of my home studio is Yamaha gear due to it's reliability, stability, and great sound.
Clyde

Re: Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability - 12/30/07 04:57 PM

Wildpaws,
Thanks for the input. I also have had good experiences with a Yamaha keyboard (P120) in the past. The "lightly weighted" keys are causing me to hesistate, but the acoustic piano and some of the other sounds are not bad for the price point on this keyboard.
Posted by: signa

Re: Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability - 12/30/07 08:27 PM

if you're used to p120's action, i would doubt you'd like 'light weighted' action (which feels like no-weight to me at least). if you do want to consider YDP/DGX line, why not YDP625/DGX620, which at least has GHS action.

Re: Yamaha YPG525/DGX520 reliability - 01/01/08 01:00 PM

Signa,