Powerful organ pieces

Posted by: carlosj116

Powerful organ pieces - 08/16/12 12:21 PM

I've arranged to play an organ a few weeks or months from now, and would like to know, what pieces are there which are very powerful and awe inspiring in the sense that you get lost in the music when listening to them, especially pieces which use very low pedal notes. Preferably baroque, and not too hard on the pedals as I am a complete beginner to organs.
Thanks,
Carl
Posted by: carlosj116

Re: Powerful organ pieces - 08/16/12 12:22 PM

Forgot to mention I would like minor pieces.
Thanks,
Carl
Posted by: TimR

Re: Powerful organ pieces - 08/20/12 02:03 PM

Definitely this one:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symphony_for_Organ_No._5_(Widor)
Posted by: RayE

Re: Powerful organ pieces - 08/29/12 09:09 AM

The Widor Organ Symphonie (as previously suggested) is really impressive particularly the Tocata Movement, as well as Bach's Tocatta and Fugue in G Minor would meet your stated requirements, but I think as a beginner both of these pieces would discourage a beginning organist. I would suggest possibly starting with a good organ method like the One written by the late Harold Gleason, former head of the organ department at the Eastman School of Music. The Gleason Method will give you some repertoir to work on as well as provide instruction in organ technique. Flor Peter's also has a collection of organ pieces I believe it's called "The Little Organ Book" that has some progressive literature that you can work through. The organ both the Manual's and the pedal board require diferrent technique than the piano, so don't expect to jump into literature that is at the same level as what you play on piano. You'll need a good organ method book that explains the differences, and a competant organ teacher would be a big help also.

Re: Powerful organ pieces - 08/31/12 09:01 AM

Originally Posted By: RayE