2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 5 invisible), 1,315 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
OP Offline
N
Hello, I've been learning piano for quite a while now and I would like recommendations on a digital piano to buy.

I've played on a grand piano before and really enjoyed how it feels so I'd prefer a digital piano with the 'smoothest' feel.

Sound is also important to me as well, and I'd prefer if the digital piano sounded 'full' and 'piano-like' (I'm not good at describing these things, so feel free to use your own tastes because I'm only a novice).

My budget is $1800, and I can stretch up to $2200 if needed.

Thanks,

-Nerdsinc

A
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
A
In that price range, the Roland FP-80 and Kawai ES7 are the top contenders, if you want built in speakers. Which feels more like a grand is probably a matter of opinion, and of which grand you are comparing it to (since different grands can feel quite different from each other).

If you don't need speakers, there are other options, but then you may also have to factor the cost of speakers into your budget (unless you are content to play only with headphones).

B
B
Another popular option is to get a kawai vpc1 with rm3ii action and pair it with a software piano like pianoteq and some external monitors. You should be able to find the vpc1 with stand for under 1900usd.

N
OP Offline
N